Preparing to bring home a new puppy - lots of questions! Special for Boston Terrier visitors: FREE Shipping on Dog Food (USA Only)! at Petflow.com. Orders $49+
+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Preparing to bring home a new puppy - lots of questions!

Young Pup

Default Preparing to bring home a new puppy - lots of questions!

This is my first time on this forum because 3 days ago we placed our deposit on a Boston puppy (Pippi) that we will bring home in late January. I would be grateful for any advice/answers to some of the questions that I have. Everyone seems so kind and knowledgeable on this forum. I know some of my questions are silly, but I really want to do everything I can to be the best mom I can be. Sorry in advance for the long post!

It has been 8 years since I've trained a puppy and I've never had a Boston before. I had an American Bulldog that unexpectedly passed away a few months ago due to an undiscovered tumor on her heart. It is difficult to even type about it, but I'm stating it because it is background for one of my questions below.

A few questions that I would love some advice on are:

1) Can anyone compare Bostons as puppies to other breeds? Having only raised large dogs, I'm not totally sure what to expect with a smaller dog of this breed. I've done some reading online and have read conflicting things about Bostons and training. I know every puppy is different, but if anyone has had large breeds (I have raised Golden Retrievers and an American Bulldog) and can tell me about the differences in their experiences, that would be wonderful (for example, both of our Goldens were crazy puppies! Our American bulldog was very, very easy).